The Mayor & Board of Trustees are the legislative body of the Village and as such enact laws to protect the health, safety, comfort, and general welfare of the residents in addition to having management of all Village property and finances.

The Mayor and Board of Trustees hold public meetings monthly. Meetings begin at 8:00 P.M. and are held in the Lawrence Village Hall, 196 Central Avenue, Lawrence, NY 11559 unless otherwise noted.

The Village of Lawrence is governed by an elected Mayor and Board of Trustees. Our current Mayor is Samuel (Shlomo) Nahmias.  The Board of Trustees consists of 5 members including the Mayor.

In addition to their elected duties, each Trustee is assigned an area of Village government to oversee and act as liaison to the Village Board.

Members of the Board of Trustees are as follows:

Samuel (Shlomo) Nahmias  Mayor
Tammy M. Roz  Deputy Mayor 
Aaron M. Parnes Trustee
Aaron Felder  Trustee
Steven C. Gottesman Trustee

A distinctive characteristic of our Village is the fact that all members of the various Boards and Commissions serve without compensation, including the Mayor and Board of Trustees.

Those serving in these positions are volunteers in the truest sense of the word and their only reward is in the contributions they make to keep Lawrence the vibrant, safe, beautiful Village it is today.

Listed below is the Official Village Family:

  • Gerry Castro - Village Administrator 
  • Lina Fusco - Village Clerk/Treasurer
  • Danny Vacchio - Building Department Superintendent
  • Golf Course Manager -  Kevin Dudleston 
  • Frank Franzese - Superintendent of Public Works and Highway Dept.
  • Gary J. Mandel - Village Justice
  • Steven E. Losquadro, Esq. - Village Attorney

  • Lloyd Keilson - (Chairperson)
  • Elliot Moskowitz
  • Edward Gottlieb
  • Danny Hiller 
  • Philip Kerstein 
  • Mark Bergmann - (Alternate)
  • Ruth Jungreis - (Alternate) 
  • Mimi Fragin - (Alternate) 
Planning Board

  • Noah Fleschner - (Chairperson)
  • Mordy Sohn
  • Benjamin Lopata
  • Michael Pinter 
  • Joseph Fein 
  •     - (Alternate)
  •     - (Alternate)
Board of Building Design

  • Barry Pomerantz - (Chairperson)
  • Barbara Kupferstein 
  • Shoshana Weinstock 
  • Chava Lowy 
  • Ron Deutch  
  • Max Katz.- (Alternate)  
  • Joseph Davidson - (Alternate) 
Park Advisory Council

  •  Dr. Sheldon Genack - (Co-Chairperson)
  •  Carolyn Argento - (Co-Chairperson) 
  •  Marc Gelbtuch - (Vice Chairperson) 
  •  Francine Sicklick
  •  Miles Fisher 
  •  Julius Fragin
  •  Randy Green
  •  David Decter  
  •  Israel Wolfson   
  •  Tammy M. Roz (Liaison) 
All correspondence for the various Boards or Commissions should be addressed to:

Village of Lawrence

196 Central Avenue
Lawrence, NY 11559

Overall supervision of the Village is the responsibility of the Village Administrator Gerry Castro. Lina Fusco serves as Treasurer, and Receiver of Taxes.  The office is located in the Village Hall and can be reached by telephone at (516) 239-4600 ext.1031 or by e-mail at